I’ve Been Sick

So last week, out of seemingly nowhere, I got sick.

I know that my Service Manager was sick, and that he came up and talked to me briefly, but I’m not sure that’s where I got it. It took me out fast and hard. I was a little cough-ish on Wednesday afternoon, and it totally took me out Thursday. I couldn’t get out of bed. I’d been up all night not being able to breathe, coughing, hacking, gagging. It was gross. My head was filled with clear goo that seemed to want to suffocate me. It was awful.

  • So I staid home Thursday, and mostly slept.
  • Friday I dragged ass into work. I only managed like six and a half hours…
  • Saturday I dragged ass into work. Pulled a good 5 out of it.

I know what you’re thinking. If I felt so bad, why did I go to work?
Because it’s month-end in the car industry, and we have 3 business days to do a 5 day book close… I didn’t really have an option. My mom-boss DID ask if I wanted to stay home Saturday, but I needed the hours and I had many things to do. So, that’s just how it turned out.

On Friday I DID go to the doctor. I wasn’t going to, but I totally just wanted to curl up and die, so I got in with a Nurse Practitioner in the afternoon. She didn’t do a lot. Poked around a bit, ignored most of what I was saying about being hopped up on pre-meth (sudafed) and that I felt it trying to drop into my chest (the reason for my concern), and got me a script for an antibiotic. She said it was the start of a sinus infection.

Now… I dunno about you, but I get nervous when you can so easily get antibiotics. I did not ask for them. I did not go in intending to get them. I wanted to know what was wrong with me and if there was a potential treatment. I am aware that you can’t really treat a virus the way you can bacteria. (I paid attention in science class…) So when she gave me the script I was like… okay… But then I started thinking about it.

She was not a doctor. She is a Nurse Practitioner. She couldn’t dole out the script herself…
What is the difference between a doctor, a physician assistant, a nurse practitioner, and an RN?
I didn’t know… but luckily, in the age of technology, so I can google it.

So the difference between nurses and physicians is that nurses are patient-based care and physicians are disease-based care… The nurse wants to make you feel better and prevent you from getting sick. The physician wants to eradicate the disease festering inside you before you cause a pandemic and decimate the population. (Physicians are hardcore.)
The way it stacks up is like this:Registered Nurses go to nursing school and treat patients.
Nurse Practitioners go to advanced nursing school and treat patients.
Physician assistants go to a medical school and treat diseases.
Physicians go to advance medical schools and treat diseases.

What’s the difference between treating a patient and a disease? Not a lot in the grand scheme of trying to make you better. It’s about interaction. Some people will probably lean more toward liking nurses, because they’re all about people. I’m more into the physicians, because I’m all about the science and getting down to fixing me. Both are trying to make you not sick, though… and that’s what’s important. So in the future, if your doctor’s office has the options, see physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners.
And: Always be nice to your registered nurses, cuz they work VERY fucking hard.

Maybe I should look into being a Physician Assistant… I like medicine. I’d like to be a coroner, but I don’t have the time or money for med school right now. Maybe I could find time for the less intensive curriculum of a PA? I should check it out. I’m not old enough to resign myself to Automotive Accounting, just yet.

Anyways. That’s been my week.
I’m concerned that I gained weight while sick. Most people can manage to lose some weight when they get sick, but not me. I didn’t want to eat, I definitely couldn’t cook, and I generally didn’t have a taste for anything, so my mom did what she is good at, and that’s getting me food that I just plain like the taste of. It’s never good for you… I had stroganoff soup, and fried rice, and then Saturday I tried to eat some Jimmy John’s, but I only managed half the sammich. I’m hoping that I can lose whatever I might have gained by Thursday, though. I’m not like, devestated that I went off my diet, but it’s not like… good, by any stretch of the imagination. Lol.

Man I hope this week is better than last week.

Leave a Reply

