Weight Loss Update

So, I went on a diet hiatus.
Things have been shitty and when things are shitty I don’t feel like cooking, and when I don’t feel like cooking I eat a lot of Chipotle and drink a lot of real Coca Cola and don’t give a damn what I’m eating.

What happened, though…. was nothing.
I gained no weight back, hovering around 265-266. While I wasn’t actively watching what I ate, at all, I was still tracking my weight a few times a week and trying to reach a 30 minute minimum of activity a day. I figured that if the weight started coming back I’d get upset and fly into a diet spree, but it just didn’t happen that way.

As of yesterday, I’m back on the “trying to lose” wagon.I’m still not really eating what I SHOULD be, such as me having M&Ms for breakfast today, but I’m watching the number of cals I’m consuming. I’m going to try to start cooking again, probably tonight (cuz I already thawed out food that I must now cook). I lost, somehow, 3 lbs overnight last night, and that’s great motivation to start being more conscious again and trying to lose again. Enough hiatus.

I think my break was probably good for me, though, since I do have so much that I’m trying to lose. It proved to me that I’m learning better portions of food, even if it’s not diet food, and that I can maintain my weight loss. I think it also gave my skin a little time to adjust to my being 15 lbs lighter… and I’m hoping things like that will keep me from having an excess skin problem as I lose.

I’m going to look into joining a gym, soon. Hoping there are pricing specials. I’d like to get back into weight lifting. I like weight lifting, and while in the past I’ve been deterred by the looks I get from people, I think I would just like to do it again. I’m good at it, and I like that ache you get from it. There’s a 24 gym by my house that isn’t a 24 Hour Fitness, and Imma look into them for a potential option. I don’t think I’ll run into people I know there.

FLASHBACK: In high school I took a weight lifting class and really enjoyed it. I was genuinely good at it, too. The problem was that the rest of the girls in my class were very thin and petite and would snicker at my ability to lift more than even about half the guys in the class. I was already the fat girl in the class, and then they made me feel like shit for being good at weight lifting. My self esteem wasn’t as good back then, and I took that very personally, so I stopped really trying to do anything in gym classes. This was my third attempt at a class I thought I’d like just to be ridiculed by idiot teenage girls. Later, after college, when I was going to the gym regularly, I started lifting with the guys that showed up the gym around 10. They were very nice to me and helped me out once in a while, but I started to notice people were staring at me. I was still fat. I’ve always been fat. I was also the only female looking person doing bench presses. All the other women at the gym seemed to stick to Zumba and the elliptical. Apparently weights are a man’s game, and cardio is a woman’s. While I like the elliptical, and at one point would do it for 2 hours before lifting or swimming, it just made me uncomfortable. So again I quit.

I’m also considering trying to find a dance class… but that’s still in the air. I don’t mean Zumba. I mean like a real dance class… but IDK that I will have time or money for that.

Anyways… that’s me.

Leave a Reply

