So I Started A Podcast… also… election.

I did. I did that. On a whim. While very wasted with my good friend, David Spencer.

It’s a pretty terrible first podcast. We start out fairly strong, talking about American Horror Story, and as the drunk goes on, we derail… a lot. So much derailing. I fully intend for the subsequent podcasts to be better, have more structure, and more interesting. I’ve already decided that David and I should do this every Friday when we hang out… and I’ve wrangled another good friend into it, as well. So… that should be… fascinating…

In other news, tomorrow is voting day. I already voted.
I’m not going to tell you who I voted for, or tell you why either side is better or worse. This election can be boiled down to the new phones on the market in 2016… The new iPhone doesn’t have a headphone jack, and the Samsung Note 7 literally explodes. Then there’s all the other candidates that no one really knows that much about, but you always have like one friend that is super dedicated to his Nokia. You’ve considered the Nokia, but like you don’t really WANT the Nokia, even if it might have all the features you look for. The OS is just a little wonky, and the buttons are all in the wrong places, and it’s just exhausting to think of trying to change, now.

Anyways, if you’re reading this, I encourage you to vote.
Are all your choices terrible?
Yes, but you know you could prolly live with one over the others.
Is the electoral college super flawed and not indicative of the popular vote?
Often, but to enact a change to that we need the number to prove that the college is not reflecting the wants of the people, so we still need you to vote.

Do I want you to go out and vote exactly like me?
Sure, that would be totally nice, but I’m not going to tell you how to vote. Vote for who you want. Vote for where your loyalties lie, no matter what those are or how you came about them. If you’re a party voter, vote party. If you’re an informed voter, make a choice. Just vote.

Americans take voting for granted. It’s a thing we do. We’d rather vote for fun things, but life isn’t all fun and voting people out of the house, off the island, or into the finals. People are dying for the right to vote. People died in America for that right. Men and women of all characteristics and creeds have suffered so you can put your two cents in. Maybe it feels futile, but that means we need change…. and a very skinny man once said…

Be the change you wish to see in the world.

-Mahatma Gandhi

 

Leave a Reply

